Public Policy Committee

The purpose of the Mid-Maine Chamber of Commerce’s Public Policy Committee, in part, is to educate its members as to pending ballot issues and legislation relevant to the business community. In many cases the Public Policy Committee will release a Position Statement for publication and distribution through the Mid-Maine Chamber’s Board of Directors.

2020 Public Policy Program of Work

To identify, develop, communicate, educate and/or advocate positions on issues of importance to the membership of our chamber.


     Advocate for the betterment of our downtowns’ downtowns revitalization.

     Develop and publish position statements when deemed appropriate.

     Communicate positions to membership and general public through whatever vehicle is deemed appropriate.

     Include standard box in InTouch during the legislative session that has a link to the LD Web site:

     Participate with city of Waterville’s LaFleur airport committee. Monitor activity. Encourage strategic plan development and marketing.

     Partner with other organizations as opportunities arise to educate our membership on issues that may affect their business.

     Continue and host “Meet the Reps”. Secure sponsors.

     Review and update White Papers.

     Coordinate a “political” breakfast in Oct. with Thomas College. Work with BBS committee. Secure additional sponsors if necessary.

     Actively advocate for the extension of passenger rail to Bangor.

     Promote and/or Candidates’ Forums with partners.

     Explore possibility of holding and education forum on Waterville charter changes.

    Chair: Dan Bernier

    Secretary: Joy McKenna; Staff: Kim Lindlof

    Date and Time: 2nd Tuesday of the month except June-August. Additional meetings TBD.

    Board Members: Bruce Harrington, Joy McKenna, Garvan Donegan, Charlie Gaunce, Dr. Rick Hopper, Bill Layton

    Members: Lisa Harvey-McPherson, Elery Keene, John Picchiotti, Ken Fletcher, Dr. Jim Libby, Peter Garrett, Rob Lester, Samantha Burdick, Larissa Larrabee, Tom Davis, Nicole Desjardins, Mark Fisher and Peter Garrett